

Journal of Chromatography A, 795 (1998) 1

JOURNAL OF CHROMATOGRAPHY A

Foreword

This year the Sixth Symposium on Chemistry and Fate of Modern Pesticides returned to the venue where the very first meeting of this series was held in 1986, the Free University at Amsterdam, The Netherlands (4–6 June 1997). The symposium was initiated in 1986 by the International Association of Environmental Analytical Chemistry (IAEAC) and was now jointly organized by IAEAC, the Free University, and the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RIVM).

The symposium was attended by ca. 200 participants from countries all over the world, with the active participation of several companies. The scientific program comprised 36 lectures and 81 poster presentations. The program was divided in 9 oral and two poster sessions. The symposium started off with two more general sessions covering the entire scope of the scientific program, covering topics such as risk-assessment, ecotoxicology, fate, sample handling, immunological techniques, LC–MS and other hyphenated techniques. Subsequent sessions were also focused on these topics while the two poster sessions and the social program gave the opportunity for the participants to interact on a wider variety of topics. This realized one of the main aims of this symposium series which is to bring together scientists from different disciplines such as biology, toxicology, food chemistry, analytical chemistry and environmental chemistry.

The papers presented in this special issue do not represent a comprehensive review of the topics of the symposium, but a selection of recent developments of chromatography in this particular field. All participants agreed that it was a successful meeting and we would like to express our gratitude to the local organizers, Elbert Hogendoorn, An Dewaele and Sylvia Baggerman from RIVM, Henk Lingeman from the Free University and Marianne Frei-Häusler for running the symposium smoothly.

It is our pleasure to announce that the next meeting will be held 15–17 September 1999 in Lawrence (Kansas, USA) with Mike Thurman as chairman and that another meeting is planned in the year 2001 in Copenhagen with Arne Helweg as chairman.

Bilthoven, Netherlands	Piet van Zoonen
Barcelona, Spain	Damia Barceló